Foreign Minister inaugurates Colombo Process Ministerial Meeting

Colombo Ministerial Declaration news 1 a

Foreign Minister Mangala Samaraweera on Thursday (25 August 2016) inaugurated the 5th Ministerial Meeting of the Colombo Process (CP) at the Galle Face Hotel.  Sri Lanka is the current chair of the CP and accordingly Foreign Employment Minister Thalatha Athukorale chaired the ministerial meeting as the incumbent chairperson. Director General of the Geneva based International Organization for Migration (IOM) Ambassador William Swing also officiated in the ceremony.

Representatives from the eleven manpower-exporting Asian countries in the CP - Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China, India, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia - participated in the Meeting, which was preceded by the Senior Officials Meeting. Cambodia was admitted as a new Member.  

Statement by Hon. Mangala Samaraweera, M.P. Minister of Foreign Affairs
Statement by Hon. Thalatha Atukorale, Minister of Foreign Employment
Statement by Ambassador William Lacy Swing Director General, International Organization for Migration (IOM)

Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka

26 August 2016


Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved.